Wednesday, November 6, 2013

What does the new Facebook Privacy setting mean to you?

Did you find this important Privacy notification on your Facebook wall?

“We're removing an old Facebook setting called "Who can look up your Timeline by name."
 What does it really mean? This setting was designed to control who could find your Timeline by simply searching your name. If you didn’t want to be found, you set your Privacy settings appropriately and that was it.



Now that the setting is removed (you will be prompted to acknowledge this change), anyone will be able to find you on Facebook. HOWEVER, and this is IMPORTANT! They will only be able to see what you allow them to see. If your privacy is important to you, set your photos, status updates or any other things you have shared to an appropriate setting – “Friends Only”.

Some of you maybe asking why is Facebook making this change. Some of you may find this change quite invasive and uncomfortable. The reality is, anything that you ever put anywhere on the Internet will live for ever. Your digital footprint will follow you for the rest of your life whether you want it or not. If you are not comfortable with the fact you are “discoverable”, then my recommendation is to stay away from your computer, iPhone, iPad, or any other gadget you like to use to browse the Internet. That’s the ONLY way you can be a 100% sure you don’t leave any digital footprints behind.



And for those of you who have accepted this change, here is why it’s happening. I actually view it as a positive change. And yes, I am setting my Privacy settings to “Friends Only”. This change will enable you to discover your friends, pictures, stories by phrases in GRAPH SEARCH (fancy name for the search window). For example, I was born in the Czech Republic. I went to the University of Ostrava. If I wanted to find my long lost friends who went to the same University, I could try to search them by a phrase "People who went to University of Ostrava". I can basically narrow down my search and be as specific as I want to for an ideal outcome. 

So, the next time you log in to your Facebook profile, check out your Privacy settings. Ask yourself a question: ”Do you want everyone to see your wall, pictures, links, etc.” If not, make sure you update your Privacy settings accordingly. And don’t forget to update your past posts too!

For more Social Media tips, please visit my Facebook and follow me on Twitter. If you are a new entrepreneur, if you have a new business and need help with your Social Media profile, email me at brady@rbbrmarketing.com



No comments:

Post a Comment